Skip to content

Note: I Still Love Mark Richt

January 3, 2011

So I have decided to return to the blog. I think it goes without saying that I was in a constant state of depression this season, so weekly updates and game-reviews just couldn’t be produced. I’m not sure if my counterparts will return as well, but I will at least try to kick this off-season off with a few good posts.

First up, the discussion on everybody’s tongues and fingertips: The Great Richt Debate 2011.

People have made some good arguments towards Richt being the reason we’re sitting at 6-7 for the season, and I really can’t argue. Our losses came from being unfocused; plain and simple. Whether it was last-minute turnovers, key players being off the field from off-field issues, or a simple lack of determination, We lost those 7 games by being unfocused. That kind of overall distraction leads right up to the top of the food chain, Coach Mark Richt. I am not here to say he doesn’t deserve any of the blame. On the contrary, he deserves about 98% of it.

What I am here to say, however, is that unlike most of the other bloggers out there, I STILL have faith in Coach Mark Richt. I think it was the right choice to give him 2011 to right the ship. I have faith that he can.

However, if he cannot, and he goes, say, anything less than 9-4 next season, I will not shed tears to see him resign. It MAY be true that he is past his prime and just cannot compete on the appropriate level anymore. If that is true, I’ll eat crow after this season and be fine with McGarity shaking things up.

 

Fact of the matter is, I don’t know what is required of Richt in this offseason. I think he needs to close out a top recruitment class. I think he needs to find a way to get on his players’ asses about getting serious (Hopefully Joe T II can help with that.) And I think he needs to start being real to the fans. He needs to stand up at a Bulldog meeting and say, “Look, this is not where we wanted to be. We didn’t even come close to ‘finishing the drill.’ ┬áTo the fans and everybody in Bulldog Nation, I’m sorry. I’m extremely sorry. We were hoping for a championship season. That was my goal, something Georgia has not done in a long time. I promise you one thing, a lot of good will come out of this. You will never see any coach in the entire country work as hard as I will work over this offseason. You will never see someone push the rest of this program as hard as I will push everybody this offseason. You will never see a team play as hard as we will next season. God Bless.”

Until he says that, I can only assume he’s thinking it inside. Only time will tell.

 

Until next time, thanks for stopping by.

-Herschel

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 11:17 pm

    A good speech, but sounds too much like Tebow.

    • TrboDawg permalink
      January 4, 2011 7:42 pm

      That may be, but didn’t UF win a lot of games with that kind of attitude?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

