Skip to content

Corndogs! Is the fair here?

October 7, 2009

Ahh, the fresh smell of corndogs. Some of you don’t know whether to love them or hate them (hopefully, you understand the reference). Well, after this weekend, I’d have to say they aren’t half-bad. Growing up an Ole Miss fan, I understand why LSU has always been one of their major rivals. Reminiscing back on the Eli Manning years, I can recount a plethora of stories involving fights between the Greek life of LSU and Ole Miss, bad experiences with the opposing teams driving into Baton Rouge, and last but not least, Les Miles. While my distaste for the Cajuns still lingers, this past weekend changed my outlook on their students as a whole. 

A group of about 20-35 brothers from LSU joined ours this past weekend. Seeing that it was their Fall Break, they came up to Athens knowing they would find a party and beautiful women. Of course, we  could not resist the chance in showing them what Athens has to offer on the social side. Being fraternity men, the over-used quote, “work hard, play hard,” could not have gone better with this past weekend. These guys came in sporting their purple and gold, but at no time, did they ever throw it in our faces. Thursday night we hit downtown. Friday night, a band party. Saturday, a tailgate that put most of the ones in North Campus to shame. Just imagine around 70 lbs. of brisket, 20 racks of ribs, sausage links, potato salad, etc. The walk to the stadium was pretty rough to say the least. 

Post-game, after a rather depressing loss, I kept hope that these guy’s would still be partying with class. They lived up to my expectations. I came back and we shared beers and conversation the rest of the night until almost sunrise. One of the most memorable experiences I had all week was waking up each morning to LSU guys passed out on our couch, recliners, chairs all throughout the house. We made it home for them, and they paid us back  by cleaning up the house after the big weekend. Now, I have a great group of guys to visit in Baton Rouge anytime. You can’t beat Southern Hospitality.

With that said, I just wanted to introduce myself to the blog. I will be covering the social side of the SEC throughout the rest of the season. I am traveling up to Knoxville Friday and I’ll give an update on any stories I have from the weekend. If any of you guys have any requests on topics for me to cover then feel free to comment. In the meantime, have a great week and Go Dawgs!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

