Skip to content

“I gotta feeling…”

October 27, 2009

“I gotta feeling that tonights gonna be a good night”

In the words of the BLack Eyed Peas, I have a feeling that Saturday is going to be a “good good night” for the Dawgs. Florida is “ripe for the pickens” as we would say where Im from. In recent weeks they have struggled against LSU, should have lost to Arkansas, and barley beaten a weak Miss State team. They have won an ungodly number of games in a row – I quit counting I dont even care – but I do know that a team like this is destined to fail. Eventually.

I had a dream last night that Georgia did things differently against Florida. I dont know whether we won I was just excited to see something different happening on the field. I feel like Im acting as a prophet here but I think Georgia will be a different team on Saturday than we have seen thus far in the season. I have already pointed out the ample preparation time which can do wonders for Georgia teams against Florida – see two seasons ago, fun night wasnt it? Florida hasnt lost this year. I was worried Saturday, I wanted them to win so bad because I feel like that opens the door for the Dawgs. A Florida loss means Tebow gets all upset, starts crying and then the team goes crazy and Lee Corso and the entire ESPN staff bow down to worship the almighty Tebow. 

It makes me sick.

That being said, Florida is not going to just hand the game to Georgia. Georgia is going to have to play 60 minutes of nearly flawless (penalty-less, turnoverless) EXCITED football. The problem with many Georgia teams when they go to Jacksonville is that they play not to lose as opposed to playing to win. As the new phrase goes, they have to “ball out” Saturday night. I hope Richt is replaying the last few minutes of last years game. The evil Urban Meyer calling time outs with a 49-10 lead. Motivation and emotion will be key. Look for something that will spark the players’ emotions early. Look for an exciting game from the Dawgs. What do we have to lose? Try trick plays, fake punts, deep passes. Anything that could give us an edge do it.

Only 5 days til game day. I cannot wait to be in Jacksonville Municipal Stadium Saturday and hear the Battle Hymn and see those beloved Dawgs take the field.

“I gotta feeling, WOOO HOOO! That tonights gonna be a good good night!”

Until next time, “You stay classy Classic City.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

