Skip to content

The Ever-Expanding (College Football) Universe

June 10, 2010

I swore I wouldn’t write about this topic. I idly sat by while all the other blogs handled the situation, but with Colorado eying the Pac-10 and Nebraska buddying up to the Big 10, it appears that the time is finally upon us.

It’s Conference Expansion Season.

Lord, I prayed this day would never come. I honestly couldn’t care less what the other conferences do, but when it comes to the SEC, I think there’s NO use trying to fix a machine that not only already works, but has churned out the past 4 national title winners. Why screw something like that up??? I see no viable reason except money. money money money.

Who else agrees that college football is about so much more than money? Don’t get me wrong, I’m as capitalistic as they come. I understand that the world runs on money and there’s no avoiding that. But come on people, it’s not like the SEC is short on revenue. I’m too lazy/pissed to actually post exactly how much money everyone makes for different bowl games and whatnot, but it’s a lot. If we were to add teams, ESPECIALLY teams that aren’t very good, it just means that money would have to be split 14 or 16 ways, instead of 12 ways. That’s less money to everybody (at first. like i said, if the new teams were to perform well, they’d bring in new money and would offset the loss, etc.)

The ONLY viable teams I could see the SEC attempting to add would be teams like: Texas, A&M, Oklahoma, OK State, Texas Tech, and Virginia Tech. Maybe an NC State, but that’d be a waste. The only reason we should ever consider expanding should be in order to expand our footprint. If we WERE to expand out west and pick up the Texas teams or OK teams, we’d pick up on their fanbases, which are currently untapped by the SEC. Same with Virginia or a NC team. That’s the only thing that makes sense to me.

What DOESN’T make sense to me is all the talk of Georgia Tech, Clemson, and FSU. Are you kidding me? Clemson would be the ONLY one I could possibly see. Their state is pretty split between fans of USC and fans of Clemson. Florida is dominated by UF, and let’s be completely serious. Atlanta is Dawg Territory. The nerds can’t even sell out their 55,000-seat stadium… in their OWN TOWN. Why is that? because all of Atlanta’s residents are in Athens, actually having fun. We would gain ABSOLUTELY NOTHING by offering the North Avenue Trade School a bid to join the SEC other than AJC nerds fainting because they’ll finally get the chance to “prove themselves!” (read: get their asses handed to them on a weekly basis instead of only at the end of the season.)

In the topic of conference expansion, my vote is to leave it be. Hell, the entire country could form a mega-conference, and I still think the SEC would dominate.

Until next time, thanks for stopping by, Bulldog Nation.
(and let’s hope next time I won’t have any new teams that I will need to cover…)
-Herschel

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 6:21 pm

    some Va Tech thoughts on joining the SEC http://techtriumph.com/2010/06/10/the-thought-of-moving-to-the-sec/

  2. June 10, 2010 9:48 pm

    Sorry, but I totally disagree. First I do not want to add teams period. Second; No other school even comes close to Tech If you do have to add teams. Nuff said.

    • June 10, 2010 11:48 pm

      I do not want to add teams at all either. I think I made that very clear in my post. I was simply saying I could UNDERSTAND if they went after some of the teams I mentioned that would expand the footprint.
      And on that note, how on EARTH does no other school come close to Tech? You’re saying they should be top on our list if we do decide to expand?! I can’t help but say that I TOTALLY disagree with that.
      As I’ve already said, it would not add ANY new market to the SEC. All of the local TV markets in the metro-Atlanta area already air UGA more than they air Tech. It would only add <50,000 regular fans into the SEC. Out of any of the "shared-state" ACC teams we could go after, Tech should be the lowest on the list. UGA owns this state, in every sense of that statement.

      BESIDES, they left on their own accord in '64. Why'd they leave? They left primarily for the exact reason why the ACC doesn't stack up to the SEC even today. They couldn't handle it. They lost to Alabama 2 years in a row, including complaining the second year about them "playing too rough." Weak.
      They also considered themselves too good to play the Mississippi teams. Snobby.
      They've won just 3 bowl games since '99, and those were the prestigious bowls known as the Champs Sports bowl, the Humanitarian bowl, and the Seattle bowl against heavy hitters such as Syracuse, Tulsa, and Stanford.
      They have to have SPECIAL DEALS in order to sell tickets "4 hotdogs, 4 cokes, 4 tickets!" And even then, can't sell out their high school stadium. Do we REALLY need another Vandy in the East?

      and to top it all off, they're GEORGIA TECH! They're our younger and inferior brothers. Why should we want them in our conference anyway? Screw them and their basketball conference.

  3. June 11, 2010 1:34 am

    The SEC is the pre eminent conference in the nation because of geography, rivalry games, & border wars (including recruiting). Tech would instantly renew rivalries with Vandy & Auburn. Could CPJ recruit if they were in the SEC? I think SEC fans would welcome SEC games with Tech, Clemson, & FSU. Teams outside this geographic area would never become the rivalry games that we see ever saturday in the SEC. If we have to expand, let’s keep it in the family (geographically). Rivalry games & border wars keeps the SEC on top. We enjoy hating the teams we hate. VT & UVA do not qualify.

  4. June 11, 2010 3:52 am

    don’t get me wrong, i completely agree with these sentiments. I’m also not trying to argue, simply discuss.
    It would be great to see some of those rivalries renewed. I’d love to see UGA/Clemson, GT/Auburn, and a few of those on a regular basis. It’d also be interesting to see storylines such as GT/Alabama and UGA/FSU develop based on the schools’ histories. Not to mention it’d be more fun hating GT if every time we beat them, we get one more step closer to winning the East.
    However, thinking like that is thinking like a FAN. Thoughts about traditions and rivalries aren’t necessarily going to translate into conference-wide decisions, as much as we’d like them to be. They will be focusing on increasing their footprint (both with recruitment and with tv-deals,) and increasing their revenue from said footprint.
    And it’s with that in mind that GT/FSU/Clemson just doesn’t make sense to me. As stated before, their markets are already basically owned by the SEC. Could it maybe benefit our conference slightly? Possibly. But I feel that it’d be such a marginal benefit that it’s not worth it.
    Which brings me back to my original point. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. The SEC is and will always be the greatest conference in college football. At the very least, if every other conference starts blowing up, I say we give it a couple years and see how they do. They could fail big time. I just don’t see a reason to jump the gun unless by doing so, you get a big-name team. Expansion for the sake of expansion is useless.

  5. June 11, 2010 4:00 am

    But just as another note:
    as stated in the link that the first commenter posted, a Tennessee/VA Tech regular game would be a GREAT matchup, and the state of Virginia is definitely still a part of the South, so I’d definitely say VA Tech would “qualify” as an adequate SEC team.

  6. June 12, 2010 6:12 am

    wew nice post

Leave a Reply

