Skip to content

State of the Program Address

September 20, 2010

okay, first of all, forgive me if this post is messed up. I’m writing it on my cellphone.

Now, onto Georgia football. I’m fairly certain that I’ve read every single blog out there since the loss on saturday. I’ve heard all of the grumbling and all of the th rationale and all of the unnecessary over-the-top concern for richt and the rest of the program. and let me just go ahead and say this so y’all know which side of the table I sit on. the sky ain’t falling on me.

here we sit, 0-2 in conference play. yes, it’s our worse start in almost two decades, but its it so hard to believe? we knew these first two games were basically going to be a toss up. Fact of the matter is, the preseason hype about south carolina and arkansas proved to be correct. they’re now top 15 teams. we lost two hard fought games. were there glaring issues? definitely. are some of the issues things that we expected to be strengths? no doubt. but do we still have a whole season in front of us? absolutely.

I’m not saying that there aren’t any changes necessary and I’m not saying that there are. I’m saying that it’s still to early to swallow that cyanide pill you’re chewing. honestly, my money’s on richt pulling this season out off the proverbial crapper. as Springsteen sang, “you can’t start a fire without a spark.” I expect the good guys light the spark next week with a stellar showing in Starksville. After that, fire. (a very Green fire, btw.)

Until then, thanks for stopping by, Bulldog Nation. (and I really wish you’d step back from that ledge, my friend.)

-Herschel Blogger

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 8:09 am

    Excellent summary, Herschel! I trust CMR to get it right, but he needs to make things happen now or the season could spin out of control quickly.

    Here’s my take:
    http://edethomas.wordpress.com/2010/09/18/look-back-to-arkansas-and-ahead-to-miss-st/

    The bottom line: This team has 9-10 win talent with 5-7 win preparation. It’s time for CMR and his coaching staff to put it together.

Leave a Reply

